Happy 2011!

Happy (belated) New Year!

My hands have let me spend a few hours on the computer lately, allowing me to get all of the required end-of-year tax forms filed for my businesses and letting me work a bit on my author website. Hurray for that.

Staying off the computer does make my hands feel better, but since getting back on the computer makes them hurt again, it’s not really much of a solution. However, I’m going to continue to limit my computer-use for a few more weeks. I’m going in for another round of tests on January 17. Hopefully the tests will reveal something as being definitely wrong so the doctor has something he can work on and I can get back to writing, blogging regularly, and (oh, yeah) earning a living.

I’ve been getting some writing and editing done using speech-to-text software (without which I would probably go insane). I’m mainly working on The Greyhounds of Aeravon, the first book in a series of fantasy novels I hope to use to raise money to help support greyhound adoption. Although many of the characters in the novel are greyhounds, I think the story will be enjoyable to many different types of readers whether they like fantasy stories, dog stories, greyhound stories, or just a good adventure story. I think it will also appeal to younger children since the main human character is a twelve-year-old boy. Early drafts of the first four chapters are available on The Greyhounds of Aeravon website.

Despite my inability to do much online promoting of The Silver Cage, it’s received a couple of 5-star reviews on Amazon, which is nice to see. I’ve sent out a lot of review copies, so it will hopefully get some more reviews soon. If you’ve read it and want to leave a review, please feel free to do so.  ;-)

My houndies are demanding to be fed their dinner. I’ll post again ASAP.

 

About Mik Wilkens

Writer of fantasy, science fiction, and other speculative fiction. Author of The Silver Cage, a fantasy novel, coming 12/1/10.
This entry was posted in General, The Silver Cage, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

