The eBook Revolution

My fantasy novel The Silver Cage was released last week as an eBook. Since then, I’ve been asked a lot of questions about the so-called eBook revolution: What’s it like to be part of it? Where do I think it’s going? Is it here to stay?

Heck, I’m not even sure how to spell eBook. Is it e-book or ebook or eBook? I’ve been using “eBook,” but no one seems to have settled on a spelling at this point. I remember a similar controversy with how to spell “email” when it first came into use. I’m not sure that controversy has been settled, but I’ve chosen to use “email.” I suspect that I’ll eventually settle on “ebook.”

I Googled “e-book revolution” and got over 11 million results. Interestingly, Googling “ebook revolution” (without the hyphen) returned only 282,000 results. I’m not sure what that means.

Since I don’t like books (I like to read them, I just don’t like having them physically cluttering up my life), I’m all for eBooks. What’s not good about having access to 1500 books in the palm of your hand? I’ve got a Barnes & Noble Nook, and I have both the Nook and Kindle apps on my PC and my Droid. For me, eBooks are absolutely perfect.

I’ve heard a lot of people say they will never get an eBook reader. A lot of them claim to like the feel and the smell of a “real” book. But I’ve also heard a lot of people take back those words after they got an e-reader. I guess the lesson here is “never say never.”

I’ve also had a lot of people ask me if my book will be coming out in a print edition because they don’t have an e-reader. I guess that those of us involved in the “eBook revolution” have to keep working to get the word out that you don’t need a dedicated e-reader to read eBooks. I blogged about this in a previous post and provided a number of links to free e-reader apps. Here they are again:

Do a Google search to find more.

So, is there an eBook revolution? I suppose that depends on how you define “revolution.” Are paper books ever going to go away? Absolutely not, but I’m fairly certain that eBooks are here to stay.

About Mik Wilkens

Writer of fantasy, science fiction, and other speculative fiction. Author of The Silver Cage, a fantasy novel, coming 12/1/10.
This entry was posted in eBooks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The eBook Revolution

  1. laradunning says:

    I was one of those people that said I would never get a Kindle, now here I am Kindle in hand and your book on it. What a great world this is that so many books can fit on such a small device! Loving it!

Leave a Reply

