I Don’t Like Books

During my life, I’ve met two kinds of people who like to collect books: readers of speculative fiction (fantasy, SF, etc.) and writers. Maybe readers of other genres are book collectors, too, but I haven’t known enough of them well enough to know for sure.

The odd thing is, I’m both a reader of speculative fiction and a writer, yet I don’t like books. It’s not that I don’t like to read books; it’s that I don’t like to hoard them.

Hoard may sound like a strong word, but I’ve been to the homes of some of these people. They have shelves of books, stacks of books, boxes of books, piles of books. I have absolutely no problem with this habit; I simply don’t understand it.

When I finish reading a book, unless it’s really spectacular and I plan to read it again, I give it away to someone I think will enjoy it and let them keep it or pass it on as they choose. This doesn’t mean that my home is a book-starved wasteland. Like I said, I keep books I intend to read more than once, and I have a small collection of non-fiction books on various subjects. I just don’t have shelves and shelves of books.

So, am I unique in my “dislike” of books or is my experience with spec-fic readers and other writers unusual? I haven’t a clue, but I sure am happy with the advent of eBooks.  :-)

In other news, I started writing a new story this week. It’s a sort of science fantasy western that I’ve been pondering for several months. This week’s Writing Challenge was “a western,” which gave me the impetus to start working on the story. I’m very excited about it, although I have no idea where the story is headed or whether it will end up being a short story, a novella, a novel, or an entire series of books.

Eventually, I’ll get around to posting the piece of the story that ended up being my challenge entry, but I plan to post those in the order I write them. Next week’s “Writing Small” challenge post: When the elevator goes sideways.

Have a safe and scary Halloween!

 

About Mik Wilkens

Writer of fantasy, science fiction, and other speculative fiction. Author of The Silver Cage, a fantasy novel, coming 12/1/10.
This entry was posted in eBooks, General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Don’t Like Books

  1. JM Kelley says:

    I’m a semi-hoarder. Trying to reform. I WILL continue to cling to the books that I read and read and read, but I’m much better about cleaning house every few months, and getting rid of the casual reads. I think that, at the very least, my logic is that I’ve dished out money, I’m keeping the books for a bit. In comparison, though, we recently cleaned out my aunt’s house for a move, and I was appalled to see that the majority of the books on her shelves were clearly for show, and me peeking in to read a page or two was the first time it had been opened. That there drives me bonkers. But I totally see your point of view. I don’t think it’s odd to simply not want the massive piles of books cluttering up your home.

  2. Pingback: The eBook Revolution | Mikreations

Leave a Reply

